UNB Wins Atlantic University Tennis Championships

The University of New Brunswick claimed their first ever Atlantic University Tennis Championship this past weekend in Halifax dethroning 3 time defending champions Dalhousie in a close final at the Daniel Nestor Center winning 4-3 in the team vs. team best of 7 format.. The two teams had met twice before in the finals of the league events with both teams taking a 4-3 win so the result was certainly expected to be close and the teams did not disappoint. Lauren Foote got Dal on the score board first by winning her singles match 6-1, 6-2 over Eilish Keaveney. Minh Nguyen tied things up for UNB with an exciting 3 set victory over Spencer Robertson in their men’s singles match winning by scores of 7-6, 3-6, 10-8. Rory Chisholm then put UNB up 2-1 with a 6-1, 6-1 win over Sergio Munoz but things were again tied up when the ladies doubles team of Abby Yashayeava & Lauren Foote defeated Rosy Aurora & Charlotte Bartlette 6-2, 6-1. Dal took a 3-2 lead when Misaki Ishaki won a hard fought ladies singles match over Vanessa Fong winning 6-4, 2-6, 10-8. Two matches remained on court with Dal needing to win one of them to retain their title. But in an exciting mixed doubles match, Eilish Keaveney and Minh Nguyen of UNB came from behind to defeat Aaron Yip and Samiya Dottin in another tight 3 set match winning 3-6, 6-2, 13-11 to tie things up at 3-3. The final match would determine the champions and the men’s doubles team of Kolin Kennedy & Rory Chisholm of UNB managed to hold on and take the match 6-2, 7-6 over Brian Horbal and Spencer Robertson to give UNB the 4-3 win and claim the championship and the Nestor Cup. UNB will now represent the region at the National University Championships this summer held in conjunction with the Roger’s Cup. Congrats and good luck to UNB.
In the other matches on Sunday, Memorial claimed 3rd place overall with a 4-2 win over UPEI and Saint Mary’s took 5th place defeating Dal #2 by a score of 4-3.

The league also handed out individual player awards for the season as follows:
Most Valuable Player (Male) – Minh Nguyen (UNB)
Most Valuable Player (Female) – Lauren Foote (Dal)
Freshman of the Year (Male) – Spencer Robertson (Dal)
Freshman of the Year (Female) – Eilish Keaveney (UNB)
Sportsmanship Award (Male) – Jono Aske (St. FX)
Sportsmanship Award (Female) – Kitty Yin (UPEI)